A warm and
nurturing team
of educators

A warm and nurturing team of educators.

At Mustard Seed School, we invest in our teachers. We believe the best educators are the ones who are continually growing and learning themselves. That’s why we commit to providing a variety of means for our educators’ professional development. We even have an endowed chair, The Agnes and Peter Steenland Memorial Chair for Professional Development, that ensures professional development is funded.

Preschool Faculty

Mallory Curran

Associate Teacher, Preschool

Kristen Jordan

Teacher, Preschool

Lower School Faculty K-3

Becca Brasser

Teacher, Grade 1

Dorota Chester

Assistant Kindergarten Teacher & Lower School PE Teacher

Beth Hudak

Assistant Teacher, Grade 1

Bridget O’Dowd

Teacher, Kindergarten

Kelly Reina

Co-Teacher, Grades 2-3

Emily Ford Sytsma

Assistant Head of School & Co-Teacher, Grades 2-3

Middle School Faculty 4-8

Sam Choi

MS Math Teacher & Technology Manager

Brent Harris

Teacher, Grade 6 & Middle School PE Teacher

Melissa McCallihan

Teacher, Grade 4-5 & MS Science

Sam Martino

Teacher, Grade 7-8 & 4-5 Math and Social Studies

Academic Specialists

Joan Isaacs Litman


Aiko Mauldin

Music Teacher

Tania Oro-Hahn

Spanish Teacher & Assistant Head of School

Administrative Staff

Nancy Aberg

Extended Day Teacher

Sam Choi

MS Math Teacher & Technology Manager

Angela Ho

Financial Consultant

Tania Oro-Hahn

Spanish Teacher & Assistant Head of School

Stacy Sweeney

School Manager & Registrar

Emily Ford Sytsma

Assistant Head of School & Co-Teacher, Grades 2-3

Extended Day Staff

Nancy Aberg

Extended Day Teacher

2021-2022 Board of Trustees

A Board of Trustees provides oversight for Mustard Seed School. Composed of 10-15 members, it includes the Head of School. Each member of the Board has been nominated, interviewed, and approved by the Board. The term of office for each is three years and each member may serve for up to five consecutive terms. The board includes people from a variety of professional backgrounds, including finance, real estate, education, fundraising, spiritual
direction and business management. All share a deep commitment to Mustard Seed’s mission.

The daily operations of the educational program are under the purview of the Head of School. The primary responsibilities of The Board include:

  • Hiring, supporting and evaluating the Head of School.
  • Setting the budget and overseeing the school’s financial well-being.
  • Fundraising, networking, and guiding the school to fulfill its mission.

Kelesha Armand (2018)
Hoboken, New Jersey. Occupation: Attorney. Church Affiliation: Episcopal.

Jan Gallagher (2020)
Vice President
Jersey City, New Jersey. Occupation: Writer. Church Affiliation: Lutheran.

Abby Hall Choi (2021) 
Jersey City, New Jersey. Occupation: Head of School, Mustard Seed School. Church Affiliation: Lutheran

Cara Hilton (2018)
Hoboken, New Jersey. Occupation: Psychologist. Church Affiliation: Roman Catholic.

Young Lee (2013)
Hoboken, NJ. Occupation: Attorney. Church Affiliation: Presbyterian.

William McGraw (2014)
Hoboken, New Jersey. Occupation: Financial Risk Manager. Church Affiliation: Roman Catholic.

Mark Quiles (2015)
Hawthorne, NJ. Occupation: School Administrator. Church Affiliation: Non-denominational.

Scott Rostan (2010)
Hoboken, New Jersey. Occupation: Corporate Trainer. Church Affiliation: Episcopal.

Lillian Meyer Taylor ’04 (2018)
Queens, New York. Occupation: Civil Engineer. Church Affiliation: Roman Catholic.

Orlando Velez ’94 (2021)
North Bergen, New Jersey. Occupation: Clinical Social Worker Instructor Church Affiliation: Non-Denominational.


Mustard Seed School.

Find out what makes us unlike any other school.

Plan Your VIsit